- Upload Info
- Upload image
- Upload video
uploaded by: Hemma
Description: The initial bridge was built in 1170 during the reign of King Vladislaus II. In 1342 it was destroyed in a major flood. In 1357, by a decision of King Charles IV began the construction of today's bridge and was ends in the early 15th century. At first, he was called a stone bridge, but over the years he became known as the Charles Bridge.
The Charles Bridge is like unique Gothic Boulevard, crossing the Vltava River and connects the new with the old part of city. On the balustrade on both sides of the bridge are placed 30 mostly baroque statues, most of which were built between 1683 and 1714.
In 1965, the statues were systematically replaced by copies, and the originals have been exhibited in the National Museum Lapidarium.
photo - personal archive
Author (source) of image: Personal archive